Agent/Broker Portal
Forgot your User ID
or Password?
Sign Up Now
Contact Us: 844.466.7225

NORCAL Mutual Receives Highest Level of ACCME Accreditation

Jul 28, 2015

NORCAL Mutual Insurance Company, one of the top ten medical professional liability insurance companies in the nation, has received for the third consecutive time an “Accreditation with Commendation” reaccreditation decision, the highest level awarded by the Accreditation Council for Continuing Medical Education (ACCME). NORCAL Mutual has been extended a 6-year accreditation term for its risk management continuing medical education (CME) program.

“NORCAL Mutual is honored the ACCME has recognized the high standards set by our risk management and patient safety program through demonstrated compliance in all criteria and the accreditation policies. We have demonstrated engagement with our environment in support of physician learning and change that is a part of a system for quality improvement,” said Dustin Shaver, vice president of risk management for NORCAL Mutual. “We are very proud to have achieved the Accreditation with Commendation for the third consecutive time.”

The NORCAL Mutual team of dedicated risk management specialists provides more than 27,000 policyholders relevant educational opportunities addressing potential risks faced by today’s medical practices. NORCAL Mutual awarded more than 35,470 CME certificates in 2014. The program includes online, print and live learning opportunities. NORCAL Mutual also recently launched MyNORCAL™, an interactive mobile application that provides exclusive, convenient access to CME activities. MyNORCAL™ allows registered policyholders to read NORCAL Mutual’s award-winning Claims Rx publication and take quizzes to earn CME credit on-the-go or away from the computer.  

”We commend NORCAL Mutual for meeting the ACCME’s accreditation requirements and for demonstrating that theirs is a learning organization and a change agent for the physicians they serve,” states Graham McMahon, MD, MMSc, president and chief executive officer of the ACCME.

The ACCME employs a rigorous, multilevel process for evaluating institutions' continuing medical education programs according to the high accreditation standards adopted by all seven ACCME member organizations. These organizations of medicine in the US are the American Board of Medical Specialties, the American Hospital Association, the American Medical Association, the Association for Hospital Medical Education, the Association of American Medical Colleges, the Council of Medical Specialty Societies and the Federation of State Medical Boards of the US, Inc.